Trainer Logic: What To Do With Your Restoration Hardware Catalog

Did you get the Restoration Hardware Catalog Package in the mail recently?  All 17 pounds of it?  Yes, that is NOT a typo…17 back pain inducing pounds of catalog all neatly wrapped in plastic that  makes it just about the size of one of the rocks from Stonehenge…well, like the ones from Spinal Tap anyway.

Anyway, I too received one of these ridiculous wastes of paper in the mail, and I too was horrified at the environmental implications of what they were doing…that is, until the trainer in me took over.  The light bulb that went off in my head was almost blindingly bright.

The first thing I did was sneak into my neighbors’ garages and find their still wrapped 17 pound catalogs of muscle building, fat shredding goodness.

Next, I reviewed one of my favorite workouts of all time – the Spartacus Workout.  This workout comes in various forms, but at its core, you do an exercise for 40 seconds, follow that with 20 seconds of rest, change to another exercise for 40 seconds, rest for 20 seconds and so on.  After 5 different exercises, you rest for 2 minutes and start again.  After 8 rounds, if you aren’t dripping with sweat, you ain’t trying.

Here are some visuals:

CIRCUIT 1

Catalog High Pull

Catalog High Pull

Offset Reverse Lunge

Offset Reverse Lunge

Catalog Swing

Catalog Swing

Catalog Thruster

Catalog Thruster

Single Catalog Row

Single Catalog Row

 

CIRCUIT 2

Catalog Chopper

Catalog Chopper

Catalog Walk Up

Catalog Walk Up

Catalog Squat Thruster with Push Up

Catalog Squat Thruster with Push Up

Catalog Hug Squat Jump

Catalog Hug Squat Jump

***Not Pictured is exercise #3 of CIRCUIT 2, the Rotational Single Leg Dead Lift.

I guarantee that if you do each circuit 4 times, 3 times a week, you will see results…it’s a 54 minute fat-shredding workout.  Even if you can only do 4 rounds (that’s 26 minutes) 3 days a week you will see results in less than a month.

Thank you Restoration Hardware for sending me free workout equipment, and I apologize to my neighbors for stealing theirs.

For those who learn better by watching, here’s a short 5-minute video showing each exercise (plus a bonus agility drill!):

A special thanks to my older daughter for handling the camera work.

